formerly the Archives and Collections Society  

Fiction based around the history of Nelson and the Napoleonic Wars

The Hornblower Books by C.S. Forester

[this was the original series of sea stories set in the Napoleonic Wars. They were all published by Michael Joseph in the U.K.]

Our collection is complete.

Year:Original Title: Notes:
1937The Happy Return"Beat to Quarters" in the USA
1938A Ship of the Line"Ship of the Line" in the USA
1938Flying Coloursspelled "Flying Colors" in some U.S. editions
1945The Commodore"Commodore Hornblower" in the USA
1946Lord Hornblower
1950Mr Midshipman Hornblowerthe first in the series chronologically, introducing young Horatio Hornblower joining the fleet as a Midshipman.
1952Lieutenant Hornblower
1952Horatio Hornblower omnibus edition:[The Commodore; Lord Hornblower]
1953Hornblower and the Atropos
1958Hornblower in the West Indies"Admiral Hornblower in the West Indies" in some U.S. editions
1962Hornblower and the Hotspur
1964The Young Hornblower omnibus edition:[Mr Midshipman Hornblower; Lieutenant Hornblower; Hornblower and the Atropos
1964The Hornblower Companion
1965Captain Hornblower RN omnibus edition:[The Happy Return; A Ship of the Line; Flying Colours
1967Hornblower and the Crisis, an unfinished novel: comprising Hornblower’s Temptation and The Last Encounter"Hornblower During the Crisis" in some U.S. editions
1968Admiral Hornblower omnibus edition: [Flying Colours; The Commodore; Lord Hornblower; Hornblower in the West Indies
1970The Life and Times of Horatio Hornblower (with C. Northcote Parkinson)

The Ramage Novels by Dudley Pope

[In the tradition of Forester's Hornblower, Lord Ramage is a junior officer in the Royal Navy in the time of the Napoleonic Wars]
  • Ramage
  • Ramage and the Drumbeat
  • Ramage and the Freebooters
  • Governor Ramage, RN
  • Ramage's Prize
  • Ramage and the Guillotine
  • Ramage and the Rebels
  • Ramage's Mutiny
  • Ramage's Diamond

The Aubrey-Maturin Chronicles by Patrick O'Brian

  • Master and Commander - The first of the series introduces Jack Aubrey and Stephen Maturin.
  • Post Captain
  • HMS Surprise
  • The Mauritius Command
  • Desolation Island
  • The Fortune of War
  • The Surgeon's Mate
  • The Ionian Mission
  • Treason's Harbour
  • The Far Side of the World
  • The Reverse of the Medal
  • The Letter of Marque
  • The Thirteen-Gun Salute
  • The Nutmeg of Consolation
  • The Truelove
  • The Wine-Dark Sea
  • The Commodore
  • The Yellow Admiral
  • The Hundred Days
  • Blue at the Mizzen

More references to naval matters may be found in:


Members are always encouraged to contact us with suggestions as to content - both on our web pages and in our research library and archives in Picton Ontario.
We are continually expanding our collections - donations would be sincerely welcomed


Revised: 31 March 2012