Naval Marine Archive - The Canadian Collection
Library Catalogue Ships database Research Collections Bibliography About us Donate

Board of Directors

Our Board of Directors is composed of the following people:

Dr Paul Adamthwaite, D. ès Sc. Phil., was educated in the United Kingdom and France. He followed a career in naval aviation development, maritime heritage and youth sail training. He held Orders in Council and served as Chair of the Southeastern Ontario District Health Council; he served on the Prince Edward Museum Board; he is a Past President of the Canadian Nautical Research Society; an accomplished yachtsman, he is a senior member of the Royal Ocean Racing Club. He was a Founding Director of this organization, serves as Chair and as President of the Canadian Society of Marine Artists.

Betty Ann Anderson, R.N., M.A., attended Queens University, the Nightingale School, and New York University. She served as Assistant Professor of Nursing at Long Island University, and wrote several books on obstetrics. She was a Founding Director of this organization and serves as Executive Secretary and Treasurer.

Matthew Stiff, B.A., educated at Wilfred Laurier University in Political Science and History, a financial advisor, served as an Officer with the Hastings and Prince Edward Regiment, he was the youngest President of the Rotary Club of Picton, is an active member of the Canadian Coast Guard Auxiliary, and has served on this board since 2003.

Chris Anderson, attended Kemptville College, farms land that dates back generations in his family, and is an agri-business executive in associated corporations. He serves as Vice-chair of our organization.

Dr. Tim Johnson, Ph.D., is a senior research scientist with the Ontario Ministry of Northern Development, Mines, Natural Resources and Forestry with an emphasis on the ecology of the Laurentian Great Lakes. He is past president of the International Association for Great Lakes Research, associate editor to the Journal of Great Lakes Research, co-author of more than one hundred peer reviewed publications, and recipient of the Christie-Loftus Award (Great Lakes Fishery Commission, 2020) and Anderson-Everett Award (International Association for Great Lakes Research, 2018) for distinguished and sustained contributions to our understanding of the Great Lakes ecosystem.

Roger Litwiller is a historian, researcher and lecturer on Canada's naval and maritime heritage, giving talks from St. John's, NF to Esquimalt, BC. He has served on several Royal Canadian Navy committees, promoting Naval Heritage and served as the historian for the Canadian Coast Guard (2019-2020). He has had several books published and has written for The Canadian Naval Review, Maritime Engineering Journal, Esprit De Corps Magazine and many other journals, periodicals and newspapers. He has assisted many Canadian and international museums, providing research for recovered artifacts on exhibit.

Honourary Directors

We are proud to recognize our Honourary Directors for their services to our organization:

Dr. Robert Clapp, DVM, a founding Director of this organization.

Dr Richard Gimblett, MSC, CD, RCN (ret'd), naval historian, past Director of this organization.

John M. Horton, CSMA, FCA, the founding President of the Canadian Society of Marine Artists.

Michael Stiff, BA, CFP, ChFC, a founding Director of this organization.

Ray Warren, CSMA, a founding Director of the Canadian Society of Marine Artists.

The Victory


Naval Marine ArchiveThe Canadian Collection
205 Main Street, Picton, Ontario, K0K2T0, Canada
Telephone: 1 613 476 1177
E-mail: for comments, queries and suggestions.

Copyright © 2024
Naval Marine Archive
The Canadian Collection

Revised: 26 September 2021